We accept credit & debit. A 2 1/2% service charge will be applied to your total transaction.
Maine laws prevent fraudulent use of vital records. Vital records include birth certificates, fetal death and death certificates, marriage certificates, and domestic partner registrations. Maine's law requires a person requesting copies of records less than 75 years old for births, 25 years old for deaths and 50 years for marriage to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records.
Individuals who may access vital records include:
The person named on the record;
The person's spouse or registered domestic partner;
The parent(s) named on the record;
Descendants of the person named on the record;
Registrant's legal custodian, guardian, or conservator or respective authorized representative (includes attorney, physician, or funeral director); and
Genealogists who have a Maine CDC issued researcher identification card.
Proof of identity must also be presented to the municipal clerks. A brief application for securing a copy of the vital record must be filled out and presented, along with positive identification such as a driver's license, passport, or other government issued picture identification that clearly shows that the person requesting the record is who they say they are. Identification requirements apply whether the records are requested in person, by phone or by mail.
For certified copies of birth certificates, marriage certificates or death certificates, there is a $15.00 charge per copy for the first copy and $6.00 for additional copies only if requested at the same time. For example, two copies would cost $21.00.
Vital Record Requests:
To order a certified copy of a birth, death, marriage record; the event had to have occurred in Bradley, or the person(s) who are the subject of the record must have been residents of Bradley at the time of the event.
1. Complete appropriate record application.
Authorization to Release a Vital Record needed if there is not direct and legitimate interest.
2. Verify that you have supplied your mailing address and telephone number.
3. Note the number of copies being ordered.
4. Supply copy of identification.
5. Include a self addressed stamped envelope.
It is $15.00 for the first certified copy and $6.00 for each additional certified copy of the same record, ordered at the same time. Make checks payable to the “Town of Bradley.”
Residents of the State intending to be joined in marriage shall record notice of their intentions in the office of the clerk of the municipality in which at least one of them resides.
Party 1 & Party 2 must fill out an: Intention of Marriage Form.
Also, the marriage license must be signed in front of the Town Clerk before it can be issued. This license is valid in any community in Maine for a period of 90 days from the date the intentions are filed. It is our recommendation that an appointment be made to complete the marriage license. It is also our recommendation that after you receive your marriage license you complete a Vital Records Request and pay the $15.00 fee; once the marriage license is received back from the officiant we will send you a certified copy of the completed marriage license in the mail.
Out-of-State Residents may file their Notice of Intentions in any municipal office. The license is valid in any community within the State of Maine for a period of 90 days from the date the intentions are filed.
If either Party 1 or Party 2 has been previously married, a certified copy of the death certificate or divorce decree must be presented to the clerk.
The cost of the marriage license is $40.00. Certified copies of the completed license may be obtained from the clerk for a fee of $15.00 for one copy and $6.00 for each additional copy.
For additional information please contact Town Clerk Melissa Doane (207) 827-7725 or at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Genealogy is the number one hobby in America today. As a result, municipal clerk’s offices receive numerous requests each week for information. Requests are received in person, in the mail, over the phone and now by email messages. Please allow four weeks for processing the search request.
The Town of Bradley requires that genealogy requests be handled in the following manner:
Complete the appropriate Genealogy Request form (one form per name search).
Submit $3.00 per name search fee, check made payable to the Town of Bradley. This fee includes a
photocopy labeled “NOT FOR LEGAL PURPOSES”.
Submit a self addressed stamped envelope.
Closed Records are defined:
Births: 75 Years from Date of Birth
Death: 50 Years from Date of Death
Marriage: 25 Years from Date of Marriage
For Closed Records: The researcher must be a direct descendant, prove lineage, show direct and legitimate interest or provide a copy of the State of Maine Genealogist ID Card.